Mila’s Introduction (January 2022)

Dunkles Zimmer mit Mila im Bett, ihr Kopf mit Polstern gestützt

My name is Mila. I am 19 years old and very seriously ill with ME/CFS. I know that people who are not affected themselves can hardly imagine what this means. That is why I would like to tell you about it here.

Since November 2020, more than 10,000 hours, I have been confined to my bed in total darkness. I can barely move my arms and legs, can’t eat by myself, can’t sit for more than a minute, and haven’t been able to speak for half a year. If I want to communicate something, I can only do it on good days, when I can write letters on my bed sheet with my finger.

But the worst is the uncertainty, the fear and the total loneliness. Even my cat is too exhausting for me and can no longer be with me. My parents and carers are only in the room for the most necessary tasks. Everything has to be done as quickly and quietly as possible to avoid stimulus overload and further crashes.

Outside, life goes on. My twin sister and my friends have graduated from high school, have been abroad, are starting their studies. I am trapped here, hour after hour, day after day, month after month, in solitary confinement, buried alive.

I was 15 years old when I did not recover in the fall of 2018 after a viral flu. In the early years, with great effort, I still managed to finish grade 10 and 11. Today I know that this was not beneficial for my health, but I had so many plans. I was used to not losing my optimism and going my way despite difficulties. Today, after my severe crash, I am left with only the hope that the disease will finally be noticed, that there will be research and a therapy as soon as possible.

ME/CFS is a terrible disease that takes away my youth and can destroy a life. There are many thousands of people suffering from ME/CFS in Austria alone and it can affect anyone. It is hard to believe that there is almost no medical care, shocking lack of knowledge and ignorance among many doctors and far too little research.

Please: I will try to hang on as best I can, but I – we! – need help. We need the medical care that every sick person is entitled to. ME/CFS and other postviral diseases must become a focus of medical education and training. And we need biomedical research and clinical trials so that medical treatment can finally be developped . Please take the many thousands of sufferers and their experiences seriously and act. Thank you.


Mein Name ist Mila. Ich bin 19 Jahre alt und sehr schwer an ME/CFS erkrankt. Ich weiß, dass Menschen, die nicht selbst betroffen sind, sich das kaum vorstellen können. Deshalb möchte ich hier davon berichten.

Seit November 2020, mehr als 10.000 Stunden, liege ich in totaler Dunkelheit in meinem Bett. Ich kann meine Arme und Beine kaum mehr bewegen, nicht mehr selbst essen, höchstens eine Minute sitzen und seit einem halben Jahr auch nicht mehr sprechen. Wenn ich etwas mitteilen möchte (wie hier), dann geht das nur an guten Tagen, wenn ich mit dem Finger Buchstaben auf mein Betttuch schreiben kann.

Am schlimmsten aber ist die Ungewissheit, die Angst und die totale Einsamkeit. Selbst mein Kater ist zu anstrengend und kann nicht mehr bei mir sein. Meine Eltern und Pflegerinnen sind nur für die notwendigsten Verrichtungen im Zimmer. Alles muss schnell gehen und so ruhig wie möglich, um Reizüberlastung und weitere Crashs zu vermeiden. Draußen geht das Leben weiter. Meine Zwillingsschwester und meine Freundinnen haben ihre Matura gemacht, waren im Ausland, beginnen mit dem Studium. Ich bin hier gefangen, Stunde um Stunde, Tag für Tag, Monat für Monat, in Isolationshaft, lebendig begraben.

Ich war 15 Jahre alt, als ich mich im Herbst 2018 nach einer Virusgrippe nicht mehr erholt habe. In den ersten Jahren habe ich es mit großer Anstrengung noch geschafft, das 6. und 7. Schuljahr zu beenden. Heute weiß ich, dass das für meine Gesundheit nicht gut war, aber ich hatte so viele Pläne. Ich war es gewohnt, trotz Schwierigkeiten den Optimismus nicht zu verlieren und meinen Weg zu gehen. Heute, nach meinem schweren Crash, bleibt mir nur die Hoffnung, dass die Krankheit endlich wahrgenommen wird, dass es Forschung gibt und möglichst bald eine Therapie.

ME/CFS ist eine schreckliche Krankheit, die mir meine Jugend nimmt und die ein Leben völlig zerstören kann. Es gibt alleine in Österreich viele tausend Betroffene und es kann jede/n erwischen. Da ist es kaum zu glauben, dass es so gut wie keine medizinische Versorgung gibt, erschreckende Unkenntnis und Ignoranz bei vielen Ärzt:innen und viel zu wenig Forschung.

Bitte: Ich werde versuchen, so gut es geht durchzuhalten, aber ich – wir! – brauchen Hilfe. Wir brauchen Versorgungsstrukturen, wie sie jedem kranken Menschen zustehen. ME/CFS und andere postvirale Erkrankungen müssen zu einem Schwerpunkt der ärztlichen Aus- und Weiterbildung werden. Und wir brauchen biomedizinische Forschung und klinische Studien, damit endlich Behandlungsmöglichkeiten gefunden werden. Bitte nehmen Sie das vieltausendfache Leid und die Erfahrungen der Betroffenen ernst und handeln Sie. Danke.

Making Of

Mila’s statement was created over the course of several weeks. On particularly good days she wrote a single word on her bed sheet (‘trapped’, etc.), usually in English. From this we created the text, which – again on good days – was discussed with her in individual paragraphs.

This is the text of the Austrian petition: https://www.parlament.gv.at/PAKT/VHG/XXVII/PET/PET_00080/index.shtml

We published a parallel statement for a petition to the German Parliament: https://www.kudoboard.com/boards/mwiENzKC/kudos/28416877

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started